The Man Who Would Be King

The Man Who Would Be King

  • Paperback
  • 9781933769745
  • Published: June 30, 2020

$18.95

  • eBook
  • 9781933769752
  • Published: June 30, 2020

$9.99

  • Big book
  • 9781646304998
  • Published: January 24, 2023

$21.95

Fans of Dumb and Dumber and Forrest Gump will love this “hilarious” book. (Screencraft)

“A hilarious and quick read. If you’re a fan of absurdist humor this is the book for you.” —Tyson Harvey, Amazon reviewer
 
 
 
They’re not exactly the A-Team…

Benjamin was never the sharpest tool in the shed. For as long as he can remember, he’s longed for adventure in far away lands. But every day he wakes up in the same boring suburb, where nothing ever happens. He rides his bike, reads Soldier of Fortune magazine with his best friend Jim, and wastes time working a dead end job at the local convenience store.

But when a phone scam from Somali grifters puts dollar signs in Ben-jamin’s eyes, he and Jim hatch a hare-brained scheme. Ditching their daily grind and jetting off to the coast of Africa, Benjamin and Jim plot to convince the locals they are highly trained Navy Seals and demand the Somali pirates turn over their treasure…

It’s not a great plan. In fact, it might just get them killed…

But through a combination of crazy coincidences, inept schemes, and plain dumb luck, these dim-witted dreamers are determined to get rich, or die trying. 

Can these two soldiers of misfortune pull off the ultimate con?



“The lunacy made me laugh out loud and the energetic plot kept me eagerly anticipating what craziness would happen next.” —Mr. B, Amazon reviewer

“I loved this book so much! What a fun (and quick!) read!! Rarely do I laugh OUT LOUD reading a novel. But this one had me in stitches.” —Amazon reviewer

“I’m not that much a fan of Dumb & Dumber and the ilk, but I have to admit I found myself laughing out loud at the antics of Jim and Jam! Call it what you will—absurd, slapstick, or potty humor—it does reel you in.” —Shari Held, Amazon reviewer

Reviews

"Addison J. Chapple takes readers on an adventure"

Daily Herald

Authors

author

Addison J. Chapple

Addison J. Chapple enjoys writing books that make people laugh and that leave them with a message of hope and greater understanding of the world around them. Following an award-winning career as an actor on Broadway, Addison began working behind the scenes in the entertainment industry, managing writers and helping to develop literary properties for film and television before turning to creative endeavours. Addison has since become a prolific author with a keen sense of story that resonates in both the publishing and film worlds. Addison’s debut novel, The Man Who Would Be King, won IBPA’s Benjamin Franklin Award for Comedy.

Some of Addison's favorite books include The Bonfire of the Vanities (Tom Wolfe), The Tuscan Child (Rhys Bowen) and Water for Elephants (Sara Gruen). Addison's writing transports you to a "world of adventure and romance".

author

Vincent Longobardi

Vincent Longobardi is a writer of fantasy, science fiction, alternate history, and comedy. He resides in Brooklyn, New York, where he was born and raised. Vincent has an MFA in Creative Writing from St. Francis College in Brooklyn. His love for history and traveling serves as an inspiration for his writing.