Hate Radio

Hate Radio

  • Paperback
  • 9781646307760
  • Published: December 30, 2025

$18.95

  • eBook
  • 9781646300099
  • Published: December 30, 2025

$9.99

HE YELLED. AMERICA LISTENED.
 
Mary had seen her fill of tragedy by the time she sought refuge in the Shrine of the Little Flower and first met Father Coughlin in 1933. fie Great Depression had killed her mom and hollowed out her dad, leaving Mary to take charge of her eight brothers and sisters. Until she spoke with Father Coughlin, nothing seemed to make sense. Then she saw her life’s purpose laid out before her eyes.
 
Mary wasn’t the only one swept up by the fiery Catholic radio priest’s magnetic appeal. As WWII approached and the Great Depression continued to batter the country, more than one in four Americans regularly tuned in to Father Coughlin. More than 80,000 donations poured in each week, and his live events filled football stadiums.
 
But over time, Father CoughIin’s message shifted from words of love and hope to a pro-fascist, anti-Jewish agenda, turning FDR’s one-time greatest supporter into his greatest rival. Before she knew it, Mary found herself part of a movement fuelled by anger and hate, and secretly joined the government’s plan to shut it down.
 
Seen through the eyes of a woman coming of age in a tumultuous time, caught between devotion to the man who pulled her from despair and her burgeoning love for a young justice department assistant, Hate Radio is the very personal story of Father Coughlin’s meteoric rise and crashing fall.


"Strong female character naviagting a time of conflict and hate..." - Advanced Reviewer


Fans of Good Night, and Good Luck and Public Enemey will love this historical fiction book. 

Authors

author

Harper H. Jameson

When HARPER JAMESON graduated from Brown University with a history degree, there was no inkling that a career as a writer would follow. After running a successful business for years, then launching the Social Impact Conference to support business owners, artists, and activists dedicated to positive social change, Harper realized that storytelling was fundamental to improving the world and that history housed the greatest stories of them all. Harper especially enjoys finding important but forgotten, or misunderstood, figures from the past and bringing them back to life.